In the meantime, there’s Book Two!

While I’m waiting on the edits for The Were-Children: Cat Moon to creative genuisbe ready, I’ve been working on Book Two, which I’m calling Wolf Moon. I wrote this mostly during this past November, during National Novel Writing Month. I’d never done that before, so it was an interesting way to go about things. What it’s left me with, though, is a scrambled-up rough draft that’s in really bad shape. What I really have is a series of “scenes” from the novel, written at random times. Sometimes if depended on what struck my fancy, and other times it was simply a matter of what I had time to write. The NaNoWriMo writing schedule is pretty relentless, especially when you also have a day job, so there isn’t much time to sit and think. It’s just fingers flying over the keyboard for thirty days in a row. And now I have a bunch of stuff that isn’t even in the correct order.

My plan of attack for finishing it up is sticky notes. And I really hate sticky notes. They don’t stay stuck, and they curl up, and it’s a bad scene all around. But it’s what I have, so I’m using it. (A friend recently told me they make them with, like, the whole back all sticky, so I’ll be looking into that. Maybe for next time?) Anyway, I’ve jotted down a description of each little scene in the order it actually appears on the document. The next step will be to rearrange them on the wall into an order that makes sense. Then I’ll start a fresh document, cutting and pasting the random parts into the new order. That should leave me with a file with only the last straggly bits and unused ideas on the old document, and I can proceed with actual revision from there. That’s the plan anyway. Right now, it just seems overwhelming. My new motto comes from the old joke that goes “How do you eat an elephant?” The answer is apparently “One sticky note at a time!”

Leave a Reply

