Casting the Movie?

I read somewhere, many years ago, that a famous author whose name I do not remember said that as he writes a novel, he scours the internet for pictures of the character that suit his imagination, and that this exercise helps ground the character in his mind and helps him visualize how the person might move or speak. (Fellow DP author K.G. Stutts calls this ‘dissecting the character.”) I found it an interesting premise, so I did just that when I wrote my first novel, Cat Moon. And lo, it was helpful. Also, fun, if you pretend you’re pulling a JKR and casting the movie of your book. After all, who doesn’t harbor even the teensiest dream of doing that?

Keep in mind, though, that I finished this first novel almost exactly ten years ago. These are the actors I cast back then. Obviously, if I were to do this today, I’d have to make some changes. Some of the actors are now too old for the characters for which I originally “cast” them, and one of them, unfortunately, died in tragic circumstances. That’s something to think about for another post on another day, though. For today, you get the first installment of the cast of the movie of my book!

The book involves three very important characters who are children. I originally found these pictures online from stock photo sites, and I’m sticking with them. These characters, then, will be played by yet unknown actors.

First, there’s Emma. Emma is a reserved, serious, thoughtful, precise little girl with a lot of problems, not the least of which is that she turns in to a werecat at every full moon. Somewhere inside her is a regular little girl who loves to laugh and play, but she doesn’t come out very often. She rarely has the chance. Here is Emma:
emmaEmma’s friend James is altogether different. He’s funny, adventurous, and even a little reckless. He and Emma have, however, managed to form a bond of friendship and protection. Here’s James:

jamesIntroduced later in the novel is young Philip Spencer. Emma finds herself liking Pip a lot, in spite of the fact that his older brother and guardian Stephen is the captain of the notorious Were-Guard. Pip is smart, fun-loving, and clever, and he adores Stephen. Not only is this a quandary for Emma, but, as the story progresses, Pip has his sheltered and privileged world view challenged  in ways he can’t begin to imagine. Here’s Pip:

philipNext time around, I’ll give you a look at my ideas for the adult characters, who will be portrayed by actors you’ve probably seen and heard of.

Leave a Reply

