This ‘n’ That

Almost too tired to write this up, to be honest, but here we go. It’s the start of another school year, and that leaves me with so little time and energy to write, edit, or anything remotely related. Not even blogging, obviously, since it’s been over a month since my last entry.

Kids are good. Quite a few are actually big, big readers, and they’ve been drooling over my classroom library with over 2,000 books and checking them out like they’re going out of style. I’ve had some kids make recommendations of books they’ve read and enjoyed, and their eyes about pop out of their heads when I flip open the iPad and One-Click them right then and there. So that’s fun.

One series I’ve started adding to the library on student recommendation is the Surviving Southside books. It’s a series of very intense hi-lo books–books with young adult protagonists that are written at lower reading levels for struggling readers. It stands for “high interest/low readability,” and they are a lifesaver for teachers of reluctant readers. Anyway, the first one, entitled Beaten, is about a teen girl who winds up in an abusive relationship. I read it, and I felt the topic was dealt with honestly and sensitively, providing positive, hopeful information and without sensationalizing the subject. I’ve already ordered the next few on the strength of that. My own interest was piqued by the fact the books in the series are all written by different authors.

I have an author event lined up in October at my local public library. Pretty pumped about that. They do tons of publicity in the libraries and online, so that’s exciting and a little embarrassing. It’ll involve some Q&A, a read-aloud, and book sales. I imagine it’ll also involve treats of some kind if I want kids to come out (and I do.) I’m thinking of having some bookmarks and posters made with the book cover on them for publicity and for give-aways. The big deal, though, is that it means real, actual books made of paper, and I’m going to be a screaming mess when those babies come in the mail!

I also realized a couple of days ago that National Novel Writing Month is just around the corner again. I made such a mixed-up hash of the second Were-Children novel last November by not writing in any particular order that I was hesitant to sign up again this year. Then I remembered how enjoyable it was to attend the write-ins and meet folks, that I decided I would. This time around, though, I’m going to be a “plotter,” rather than a “pantser,” I think. What I have in mind is a series of hi-lo science fiction shorts–eight or ten books–that I’ll write all as one thing to reach the 50,000 words. I figure it’s my “novel,” and I can make it what I want, right? I’m spending September and October doing some outlining, researching, and note-taking so I’m ready to go for that. It’s a long slog, and it seems brutal and relentless at the time, but it sure feels good to have it done. I’ve always gone by the Dorothy Parker quote: “I hate writing. I love having written.”

It takes five things to make a list, doesn’t it? Hrm. Okay. Here’s a picture of my dog.
luna

2 thoughts on “This ‘n’ That

  1. I equate with so much of this blog re. getting back into the swing of school, putting the hours in on the writing/editing front, planning the next books, marketing etc. All the best with nanowrimo. I hope it yields the fruit that you want it to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

