The Weird Part

Here I am writing my name in books, something people seem inexplicably to want from me.

I am an introvert, through and through. I think that’s one reason I’m a writer. I’d rather communicate via email, letter, poem, story, or novel over actual personal interaction about 99% of the time. Because, well, PEOPLE. People wear me out. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t have a shy bone in my body. I am, however, very, very introverted.

What I’m noticing is that I’ve now reached the part of publishing a book where I have to go out and greet people. And talk about the book. And smile. And, oh lordy, these sillies want me to SIGN MY BOOK!. Me! That’s practically an autograph! It’s too much attention. I very much dislike being the center of attention, and it’s uncomfortable for me.I’d as soon the earth open up and just swallow me whole.

I had a lovely little author event last evening at my own personal public library, the West Wyandotte branch of the Kansas City, Kansas, Public Library. I did some of the writing and researching for the book in that library, so when I thought about an author event, that’s where I wanted to go first. They loved the idea, and the YA librarians went out of their way to make it a good event. I had anticipated a schedule that involved a little talk on my part, a reading, and some Q&A, but folks seemed to be trickling in whenever they could make it, rather than showing up right at the start time.

I was okay with this because it meant I could be more the host of an open house event, and it would be more informal. I could spend more face-to-face time with those who had showed up. It was going great with the old friends who had dropped by. We were chatting, about life, about the book, about lots of things. And then it happened. Someone suggested that I do a read-aloud from the book. Even though I had initially been prepped mentally for it, I had already let it go and decided it was all going a different direction. I have no doubt that I had my best deer-in-the-headlights look on for a while. Then I sat down and read a bit.

It was fine, of course, but there was still that part of me that wanted to turn the spotlight OFF. How about I sit in an another room and read into a microphone? Or maybe phone it in? Anything just to get you to STOP LOOKING AT ME. And these were my friends there!

The thing is, a big part of indie and self-publishing is the promotion. Authors have to get out there and publicize themselves because there isn’t a high-powered, well-financed PR department doing it for them. I can get all that without relishing it particularly. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to do it without being embarrassed, though.

All in all, I’d just as soon be writing.

4 thoughts on “The Weird Part

  1. I’m too early in my writing career to have done an author event, but I imagine my feelings would be very similar to your own if I ever held one. Although I’ve taught for nearly thirty years in a secondary school, and addressed many adult groups and audiences, it still doesn’t come naturally. I much prefer expressing my thoughts in writing. Anyway, well done you for putting on the event and seeing it through. It must have been very heartening to have people turn up and get their signed copies from you personally. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • I certainly didn’t mean to imply that the event was awful in any way. It was a ton of fun, and it was great to see quite a few old friends I hadn’t seen in a while. And in my frontal lobe, I am very aware that the people attending would have been supportive no matter what I did or how badly I flopped. It’s my lizard brain that wants to go hide under a rock when somebody notices me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

